2019 has brought many new and exciting changes for Apilio:
- the team has doubled in size,
- we welcomed you all into this new Community,
- we launched our IFTTT integration and
- we redesigned our interface to to make the web app more responsive and secure
And we are ending the year with the news Apilio is becoming a pay-for subscription service in 2020. I know this won’t be great news for everyone, especially since we’ve been providing the service for free so far, but we need to move forward with a sustainable business model so we can deliver great service and keep adding fantastic features into the future. We feel we’re doing this in a responsible and fair way, recognising the value and support of our long-time subscribers and very much hope you agree.
So, to say “thank you” with more than words, we will send out a special discount code for 40% off our subscription plans to our existing users. You will also find the discount code within on the subscription management page.
Why start charging now?
We started Apilio the Business one year ago and since then we have been busy making things better. Professional hosting, integration with IFTTT and, most importantly, employing good people to help Apilio flourish. The reality is this all costs money, IFTTT charges a pretty hefty licence fee for example, and so we need to start generating revenue if we want to continue providing the Apilio service.
As Apilio users are all over the World, we needed someone who could help globally and so we have partnered with Paddle.com to be able to offer subscriptions worldwide.
What plans are available?
The Starter plan will allow you to run one logicblock, which suits a large chunk of our users, whilst the Early Adopter plan has higher limits for those of you with larger numbers of routines.
We won’t start enforcing the limits for each plan for legacy users until after the end of January, so you have time to adjust your automations and find what works best for you.
As a new user can I try before I buy?
If you are a new user starting today, there is a 14-day trial period.
What happens if I already had an account before subscriptions were launched?
To thank you for being there from our early days, you will have a longer trial period, lasting until 15 January 2020.
What happens if I don’t subscribe?
Ultimately, if you do not wish to subscribe to any plan, your account will be deactivated when it expires, meaning it will stop receiving updates from and triggering actions on IFTTT. We will keep your configurations and information for 6 months (unless you decide to delete your account yourself earlier) in case you want to subscribe again, so you can continue right where you left it.
Please get in touch in you’re a charity or educational establishment as we would like to try to continue to support to you if possible.
I have a question that was not answered here
Please reply to this thread or get in touch directly with us, we are super happy to help.
Thanks again to all of you who have been with us in these past few months. Here’s to a great next year!