Trouble with REST API Put Request

Hi there Apilio community,
I’m quite new to using Apilio but have found it very useful in my home automation journey. My original plan was to pair up Apilio and IFTTT (as a lot of people seem to do) but am finding things get quite complex quite quickly. I have now decided to run custom (python) programs on Raspberry Pi with calls to read inputs (control actions) from Apilio variables, and write outputs to Apilio variables (the results of the control actions). The design principal being I only want outbound traffic from my home (no open ports). Things are going well.

I’m hitting a snag with updating Apilio variable using PUT request. I consistently get status code 500 with this returned:
{“error”:“param is missing or the value is empty: boolean_variable\nDid you mean? {“boolean_variable”: {“value”:false}}\n controller\n action\n uuid”}

GET requests are working:
curl -u : --location --request GET ‘https://api.apilio.com/api/v1/boolean_variables/’ --header ‘Accept: application/json’

But PUT requests aren’t:
curl -u : --location --request PUT ‘https://api.apilio.com/api/v1/boolean_variables/’ --header ‘Accept: application/json’ --data-raw ‘{“boolean_variable”: {“value”: false}}’

I don’t expect there’s an issue, I think I’ve got some syntax wrong (or somethings else wrong). Can anyone point me in the right direction.

I get the same issue with numeric, string or boolean variables.

I appreciate any help.
Cheers,
James.

1 Like

Thanks James, @pebneter (the :mage:t2:) is probably best place to help with this question. Love the architecture, sounds exciting and would be great if you could share a little more at some stage!

Thanks @DanT . Yes, I hope @pebneter can help :slight_smile:

BTW looks like my syntax curl command syntax was parsed what is should say is:

GET requests are working:
curl -u username:password --location --request GET ‘https://api.apilio.com/api/v1/boolean_variables/uuid’ --header ‘Accept: application/json’