Community Question: TADO or Honeywell?

So gotta ask for a friend looking for a Hot Water and Central Heating management solution

• TADO
  • Honeywell

0 voters

I have no experience with Honeywell, but with Tado and it does a good job.

1 Like

I’ve been looking at this too, though I’ve not purchased yet. However, I would go for neither of these, and offer a couple of other suggestions that are particularly good for people in the UK.

• Drayton Wiser – good price point and function, plus very easy to fit into standard central heating systems (in the UK at least). The biggest con for me is that the radiator valves use Zigbee to connect. If you have tried using Zigbee devices, you will know that the range is not great, so you need Zigbee extenders (probably lots of them) to get whole house coverage. As the Drayton system is proprietary, you require their own smart plug / extender that you will need to put just about everywhere (and make sure that guests/children do not unplug/switch off). However, if you have a small house then the Drayton system is well established and worth considering.

• Wunda Smart – very new, so not much information available. However, I believe that it offers some very significant advantages (on paper at least). First and foremost, the connection between hub and radiators/thermostats is a low energy proprietary wireless one that is claimed to cover huge distances and never need any extenders. For my requirements, this makes it win hands down over the Drayton. It allows up to 30 separate heating zones (= rooms) and can control up to 4 separate zone valves (none of the others can do this, so if you had [say] upstairs zone, downstairs zone, underfloor zone and hot water then it could do that). Like the Drayton, it is also easy to fit to standard UK central heating control wiring. WundaSmart Home Heating Controls – WundaSmart Home Heating Controls | WundaGroup